Long Slow Run – Three words, all important.

The past couple of weeks my long runs have been in a bit of a ‘funk’, they’re just steady, minimal effort time-on-feet workouts. I was starting to get a little bit nervous about the speed I was doing (9:30min/mile) and if this would be good enough to get me over the Marathon distance in under 4hrs, for which I have to average below 9:09min/mile. So this week I decided to do something different on my long run, which has made me appreciate more that in the phrase ‘Long slow run’, all 3 of the words are equally important.

Long Fast RunAs you can see from the run above, I set out to do a 7mile there-and-back route for my long run, which was mistake number 1. Actually, it wouldn’t have been a mistake other than it was compounded by the idea that I wanted to do it with some effort this week. On Saturday, my friend Gary, who I’m running the marathon with did his long run of 12miles at 8:30min/miles. Gary is the one who first bullied me into signing up for the marathon, or to be precise, he twisted my arm gently and I agreed pretty quickly. This inspired me to want to go out and see if I could do the same. Sadly, I forgot Gary lives on the sea front, so did a 12mile run with around 280ft of elevation total throughout. The route I picked, had 3 times as much total elevation, including some pretty long steady climbs, and a couple of very short but very steep routes. Oh, and I also got lost on the way back, which is why there’s a weird loop on the map rather than a nice line going straight out and straight back.

I did manage it, but yesterday wasn’t a fun rest day as my calves, glutes and thighs were all sore from the effort of foolishly sticking to 8:30min/mile pace. I did manage it, but it hurt, both at the time, and afterwards. I’m not stupid enough to think that 8:30min/mile is achievable for the marathon just yet, doing it in under 4hrs is still the goal, and I need to base my training around that, including making my weekend runs longer and slower. Time on feet is the key, not the speed of a training run. You don’t get rewards from a training run.

I’ve managed to shake out most of the kinks from my legs with a nice steady 5mile run today. I even put my Vibram Fivefingers on for the blast, which is the furthest I’ve ever run in them. I’m now suffering from a pretty sore blister, caused by a little debris which I think crept in my shoe before I put them on and rubbed on the ball of my left foot. It was still a good run, and I managed to get some nice intervals and speed work in (I really don’t enjoy speed work!). I even manage to set a couple of segment records on Strava.

My KSO's

 

I still loved the run, even with the blisters, the weather currently is perfect for me, as I get very warm very quick, and running as the sun goes down is nice.

 

4 thoughts on “Long Slow Run – Three words, all important.

  1. Looking brilliant Matt, these times are really impressive. I’ll be happy with anything under 4.30 on the day – sadly, I’m a 10 minute miler although training runs have been a bit better than that this year so we’ll see. Gary Mac is a quick boy then!

    • Thanks Gary! I think Mr Mac is one of those lucky people that’s built for long distance running. I’m not, but I’ve got a stubborn streak a mile wide!

  2. I’m aiming for under 24hrs. Anything more than 9.30-10 min miles for me feels far too much like competition to me. By the way Matt, very impressed with a blog about running. Mine would be: Blog 1: Went for run, knackered. Blog 2: Went for run, flipping shin-splints Blog 3: Aren’t haribo nice? Blog 4: When’s this run again? Blog 5: Went for a run again … knackered.

    • You make a very good point. Haribo are nice.

      I prefer Jelly Babies though. Incidentally I take Jelly Babies on my long runs with me for fuel as I move. Much cheaper than energy gels if you buy supermarket own brand.

Leave a Reply

