Brooks Pure Project – Free Shoes for a week!

Yesterday I went and picked up the Brooks Pure Drift Shoes I’d signed up to test back in January. I’ve got them for one week before I have to return them and give my feedback on them to a Brooks representative. At which time, I’ll get a voucher for £25 off the price of a new pair of Brooks shoes if I so wish (which is unlikely, I just wanted to try them out and rest the Inov8’s for a week).

Brooks Pure Drift

Brooks Pure Drift

Out of the box I was impressed with how light and flexible they are. My Inov8’s are not heavy shoes at all, but these are notably lighter, a lot of this weight saving I think comes from them only putting rubber on the most used areas of the sole (the black sections in the picture), and leaving the white exposed EVA elsewhere.

Very nice fit, felt a bit tight on my left foot.

Very nice fit, felt a bit tight on my left foot.

Once I’d put them on, I was impressed with the fit, although a little nervous that the toes on my left foot were very close to the end of the shoe. The Pure Drift has an anatomical (curvy) shape that looks unusual off the foot, but feels very good when on, and doesn’t look at all weird. After one steady 8 mile run at target marathon pace I’m impressed, the main thing I liked about them was that by the end of the run, I’d forgotten I was wearing and testing new shoes, they just felt right. The fit wasn’t a concern at all, nor were blisters, the ones I had acquired on Tuesday’s run weren’t aggravated at all in them, although I was wearing a new pair of socks, which may have helped with some of the friction.

I’ll write up a more full review next week, after I’ve done a longer run and hopefully some speed work, that’ll allow me to ensure I give the Brooks rep my full and honest feedback when I hand them back.

Leave a Reply

